Were You Charged With Vehicular Homicide In Minneapolis?
While an accidental death occurs, there are usually no penalties because there was no premeditation involved. However, if the accident was caused by someone who was drunk or high on drugs, prosecutors and juries fail to realize that it was still an accident.
If you are facing charges of vehicular assault, vehicular homicide or aggravated charges, you need the help of a formidable criminal driving while impaired (DWI) defense attorney. At Groshek Law PA in Minneapolis, Minnesota, our attorneys are committed to obtaining the best possible outcomes for individuals facing vehicular assault or vehicular homicide charges in the Twin Cities. We work closely with our clients who have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or DWI, examining all possibilities for having charges reduced or obtaining a not guilty verdict.
To protect your record and driving privileges, it is important to talk to an attorney as soon as possible. Call us today at 612-426-7047 to learn about your options.
Penalties For A Vehicular Homicide Conviction
If convicted of vehicular homicide, you face possible prison time. In addition to the criminal consequences, you will face increased insurance premiums and the possibility of losing your driver’s license. A conviction will also show up on your background check, which could result in difficulties in gaining employment and obtaining loans.
In addition to the penalties described above, you will face more serious penalties if aggravating factors are present in your case. These factors include:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol
- Driving under the influence of drugs
- Driving without a license
- Driving with a revoked license
- Driving after a license was canceled as inimical to public safety (IPS)
- B-Card violations
Much-Needed Answers To Vehicular Crime Questions
Understanding the laws surrounding vehicular assault and vehicular homicide is not easy. To make matters more simple, we have answered a few of our clients’ most frequently asked questions.
What constitutes vehicular homicide in Minnesota?
If an individual is operating a car and causes the death of another individual, the state considers this vehicular homicide. The state can charge you with vehicular homicide even if you did not deliberately kill someone with your car.
What kind of charge comes with vehicular homicide in Minnesota?
The formal charge is called criminal vehicular homicide. That is, it results in a death, but is not technically considered murder or manslaughter. It is a felony offense.
What are the penalties in Minnesota for vehicular homicide?
The consequences of vehicular homicide can include a fine of up to $20,000 and a jail sentence of up to 10 years.
Get Help From An Experienced DUI Defense Lawyer Today
To learn more about how we can help you minimize the effects of these charges, contact Groshek Law PA for a confidential consultation with a lawyer by calling 612-426-7047. You may also send us an email.