Defending CDL Drivers From Drunk Driving Charges
For many, the ability to drive is more than just a convenience; they depend on their driving privileges to make a living. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), your commercial driver’s license (CDL) could be at risk for suspension or revocation.
To protect your criminal record as well as your continued employability, it is important to seek the advice of an experienced DUI defense attorney.
At Groshek Law PA in Minneapolis, Minnesota, our dedicated defense lawyer, Christa Groshek, defends individuals facing DUI charges in Minnesota. She focuses on the individual needs of her clients and seeks to minimize the effects of DUI charges. She also works with authorities to obtain evidence and, when it is in her clients’ best interests, reach plea agreements that can result in a reduction of charges.
Minnesota Laws Regarding CDL DUI Convictions
Implied consent laws in Minnesota mean that by driving a vehicle, you are consenting to be tested in the event of a DUI arrest. This can mean that it is possible to have your CDL revoked immediately upon being arrested for drunk driving. In fact, you may lose your CDL without even being convicted of a crime. In some counties, such as Ramsey or Hennepin, you may be able to have your CDL reinstated while your case is pending.
It cannot be stressed enough how important it is to have an attorney on your side who is familiar with all aspects of DUI procedures, including those involving sentencing. Our skilled defense lawyers will ensure that you are aware of all administrative hearings, filing deadlines and court requirements so that you have the best chances of obtaining a successful outcome.
What To Know About CDL And DUI
You probably have a lot of questions about your commercial license and how a criminal case might affect it. We can answer these questions in detail when you speak with one of our team members. In the meantime, we have provided answers to some of the questions that we hear most often.
How long could I stand to lose my Minnesota commercial driver’s license if I got a DUI?
If you are convicted of operating a vehicle, you could lose your CDL for up to one year. This includes operating a vehicle of any kind, even if it is not a commercial vehicle.
What does it take to get my CDL reinstated while my DUI case is pending?
Fortunately, you do have an option if your CDL is suspended. Some counties, including Ramsey and Hennepin, allow you to file a petition for reinstatement within 30 days of receiving a suspension. If a district court judge grants you a reinstatement and you pay a $680 fee, you could get your CDL privileges reinstated.