Charges of driving while intoxicated in Minnesota can result from blood alcohol content of 0.08%, or 0.04% for commercial drivers. The state also has elevated penalties for BAC above 0.16% or DWI arrest with an underage passenger.
Review the potential legal consequences of a DWI conviction before facing this type of court date.
For a first-time DWI with no aggravating factors, an offender can receive misdemeanor changes. Conviction carries a fine of up to $1,000 or up to 90 days in jail. The person must also serve a 90-day license suspension, though they may qualify for a limited license in some cases.
Any second offense or third offense within 10 years receives gross misdemeanor charges, including up to 12 months in jail or a fine of up to $3,000.
An arrest with a child in the car or BAC over 0.16% is a gross misdemeanor in Minnesota. In addition to the penalties described above, drivers convicted of these offenses must also install impound plates from the state department of motor vehicles. For sobriety test refusal or for an elevated BAC with a child in the vehicle, an offender must serve a one-year license suspension.
Any individual convicted of DWI in Minnesota must have a chemical health screening, apply for a new driver’s license and pay the associated fees, take a DWI knowledge test, and pay a $680 reinstatement fee before the state will reinstate driving privileges. Depending on the offense level, a driver may need to use an ignition interlock device for several years.