If you face drunk driving charges and you have not reached the age of 21, or you are the concerned parent of a teen driver in this position, it is pivotal to take a close look at various issues. The outcome of a court case could have a significant impact on your life, affecting your ability to drive and other facets of your life.
Many young drivers find themselves in this situation unexpectedly because they did not realize that Minnesota has a zero-tolerance policy in place for drivers under 21.
Minnesota’s zero tolerance for underage drunk driving
According to the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, it is illegal for those under 21 to operate a motor vehicle while drinking alcohol or after consuming alcohol if any evidence of alcohol is present in their body. You need to realize that while those under 21 have a legal limit of .08, you cannot have any alcohol in your system if you are a driver under 21.
Some young drivers face serious allegations even though they did not drink alcoholic beverages, while others do not realize that a very small amount of alcohol in their system can lead to charges.
Losing your license and other underage drunk driving penalties
If convicted of underage drunk driving, you could face the suspension of your driver’s license for 30 days or up to 180 days if you have a previous underage drunk driving conviction on your record. Aside from losing your license, which could make it hard to get to work or school, you could face high levels of stress, a shattered reputation and challenges later in your life (such as trying to apply for work in a certain field).
It is crucial to go over your options and the details that surround your case if you currently face underage drunk driving charges.