Drug crimes in Minnesota can come with some very harsh penalties if you are convicted. In the case of cocaine, the state laws are pretty strict because cocaine is considered a controlled substance. All cocaine-related criminal charges in Minnesota are considered felony charges that carry the possibility of significant time in prison.
What are the possible penalties for possession of cocaine?
The penalties for cocaine possession are based on how much cocaine is associated with your case. If you are convicted of carrying up to three grams, you face up to five years in prison. From three to six grams carries up to 20 years, six to 25 grams carries up to 30 years, and more than 25 grams carries up to 30 years. Second offenses carry four to 40 years in prison depending on the level of your prior conviction.
What are the penalties for selling cocaine?
The penalties for selling cocaine are also dependent upon how much is associated with your case. At a minimum, you will face up to 20 years in prison. Some charges are associated with higher penalties. For example, if you sell to a minor, you are facing up to 25 years.
Is there a way to avoid going to prison?
Minnesota has a drug court that might help people who have an addiction to avoid going to prison. The program is meant only for non-violent offenses that are considered lower-level offenses, such as simple possession.
If you are facing cocaine charges in Minnesota, you should make sure that you know all the options available in your case. You can then decide what choices to make regarding your defense.
Source: FindLaw, “Minnesota Cocaine Laws,” accessed Dec. 21, 2015