As you hit your favorite bars and have a few drinks, the mix of people and alcohol sometimes leads to unpleasant situations.
While it may not seem like a big deal at the time, a bar fight comes with potentially severe consequences.
1. Disorderly conduct
Even if no fists get used, you may still face disorderly conduct charges for disturbing the peace or acting offensively. Although considered a misdemeanor in Minnesota, you still face potential jail time and fines up to $1,000.
2. Simple assault
Aggressive acts bump up the charges to simple assault. Considering that the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension recorded 23,522 simple assault arrests in 2021, this charge ranks first among crimes against persons. The state classifies assault as attempting to cause fear or hurt someone. Simple assault means you intentionally inflicted harm or fear, which may include pushing, slapping, making threats, or throwing an object. It also comes with a possible 90-day jail sentence and fines.
3. Aggravated assault
Assaults that involve a weapon and result in severe injuries get classified as aggravated assault. While many people may think of a gun when it comes to assault weapons, a deadly weapon can include a knife, bat, or vehicle. The degrees given to assaults vary on the circumstances. A second-degree assault comes with the possibility of seven years in prison and a $14,000 fine. If a person sustains permanent injuries, the charge gets up to first-degree assault, which may include a 20-year sentence and more than double the fines.
Even if you only face a misdemeanor, any type of assault charge has long-lasting effects.